Skip to main content

Who are the 8 Chiranjeevi ?

Who are the 8 Chiranjeevi ?

Chiranjivi is term which refers to beings who are alive on earth and will live through the Kali Yuga. They are supposed to help Kalki- the last Avatar of Vishnu, which will take Kal Yug back to Sat Yug.

The 8 Chiranjivis:

1) Vyasa, the sage who composed the Mahabharata. He represents erudition and wisdom. He was the son of sage Parashara and his intimate partner Satyawati, a fisherwoman and great-grandson of the sage Vashishtha. He was born towards the end of Treta Yuga, lived to see the complete Dvapara Yuga, and saw the initial phase of Kali Yuga

2) Lord Hanuman, devotee of Lord Vishnu who served Lord Rama throughout his life. His courage and strength is known to everyone, so there is no need to explain his story. According to me he will be the right hand of Kalki during shifting of Kalyug to Sat Yug.

3) Parashurama, the sixth avatar of Vishnu. He is knowledgeable of all astras, sastras and divine weapons. The Kalki Purana writes that he will reemerge at the end of time to be the martial guru of Kalki.

4) Vibhishana, the brother of Ravana. Vibhishana surrendered to Rama before his battle with Ravana. He was later crowned king of Lanka after Ravana was killed by Rama. He stands for righteousness. Vibhishana is not a true Chiranjivi, as his boon of longevity is to remain on the earth only until the end of the Maha Yuga.

5) Ashwatthama, the son of Drona, a great warrior. Ashwatthama is the avatar of one of the eleven Rudras. Ashwatthama and Kripa are believed to be the lone survivors still living who had fought in the Kurukshetra War.

6)Mahabali was a ruler of demons or asura who existed somewhere around present day Kerala. He was sent into Patal, the underworld by the Vamana avatar of Vishnu.

7) Kripa, the royal guru of the princes in the Mahabharata. He was adopted by King Shantanu .He is known for long life because of impartiality among his students and treated them as his own kids.

8) Markendeya is a devotee of the Lord Shiva, and was granted immortality by him when Shiva and Yama (the God of death) fought to decide the Rishi’s destiny.

Source : Vedic Feed, Quora


  1. A great and useful content.
    Unique site sir, but use these image properly. I am glad to see that you are in blogger but you have AdSense approval.
    Please don't give fake information, give genuine information and keep deep search.
    Thank you!
    🙏 please avoid grammatical mistake.

    1. Thanks a lot pal! We will keep all this in check and try to make our services better.


Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Where exactly is Vaikuntha located?

What is Vaikuntha?  Vaikuntha Loka, Vishnuloka, Paramam padam, Nitya Vibhuti, Thirupparamapadham or Vaikuntha Sagara is the celestial abode (dwelling) of Vishnu who is the principal deity of the Universes and known to be Godhead, as revered by all of pre-Battle Of Kurukshetra and the supreme being in Vedic, Hinduism, and its Vaishnavism traditions. Source: Where is it located ? According to the Vishnu Purana. Vaikuntha is located 26,200,000 yojanas (209,600,000 miles) above Satyaloka (also known as Brahmaloka since it is the celestial abode of Lord Brahma). The location of Vaikuntha coincides with the Makara Rashi i.e. the Capricorn constellation. The Vishnu Purana also states the distance between the Sun and Satyaloka is 233,800,000 yojanas (1,870,400,000 miles). The Vaikuntha planets begin 26,200,000 yojanas (209,600,000 miles) above Satyaloka. In most of the extant Puranas and Vaishnava traditions, Vaikuntha is loca

Quotes from Vedas that encapsulate Ancient Wisdom

  Vedas are very well known for the wisdom they carry. They are the very scripts that have answers of all your questions. Here are some of the quotes that come from our Vedas.

Impact of the Three Dharmic Faiths on Asia

Impact of the Three Ancient Dharmic (Indic - Indian) Faiths on the Continent of Asia • Hinduism (Sanskrit - Sanātana Dharma) has its roots laid deep down in the Indian Subcontinent for millenia. Originating somewhere around 7,000 to 10,000 years ago in the modern day areas of India, Pakistan and Afghanistan - it is the oldest active religion on planet Earth. • Jainism (Sanskrit - Jaina/Jina Dharma) evolved out of Hinduism during the Shramaņa movement around 3,000 years ago. It follows the teachings of the 24 Tirthankaras in order to achieve Moksha (Liberation) from Samsāra (Cycles of death and rebirth). • Buddhism (Pāli - Bauddha Dhamma) also evolved out of Hinduism with the awakening and attainment of Nirvāņa (Eternal bliss) by Gautama Buddha, also known as Siddhārtha Gautama 2,500 years ago. This faith was able to spread throughout Asia because of its revolutionary ideas and techniques to conquer one's mind - Mana. - Many societies converted to these foreign faiths. These faiths